Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

The BFCC

I’m writing this here because by the time I get permission to put this on the BFCC web site the moment will have gone. I can always move it over later.
Until proved otherwise I think the BFCC is unique in Europe and, possibly, the world. I am not saying other countries don’t have casting clubs but we are quite possibly the only one that travels to the people rather than expecting them to travel to us in a centralised location. We travel, at our own expense, to several parts of the county. It’s still early in our season but so far we have been to Devon, North Wales and Kent, with more events still to come in other parts of the country (and we are always on the lookout for suitable venues in some regions we have not covered). We not only offer competition in various disciplines but also offer tuition as part of each event. It was always tuition added on to the competitive day but recently it seems to have switched around and we get more coming for tuition than competition. As I get passed my competitive era I find this slightly alarming. Where are the competitive casters? We, apparently, have a GB, or possibly English, Welsh and Scots casting team(s) who are supposedly going to the world championships. Not one of them, as far as I know, has cast in any BFCC event in the last two or three years. I find that very odd. If I was preparing to represent my country I would not only be practicing ( which I assume they are) I would also be wanting to get in as much competitive practice as possible as well and I would make sure I got to a few BFCC events to get that practice. There is just no substitute to actually competing against others. Hells teeth, if I was good enough to cast for my country I would go along just to take some of the records, I mean they must be easy, just ripe for the picking. A mere 130 something for the five weight and a piddling 140 plus for the seven, a piece of piss for a caster of world championship class surely. I appreciate that some of our rules do not conform to world championship disciplines but if there was enough interest I am sure we could do something about that, if necessary. Personally I really don’t see a need because casting is casting after all, and, it’s our records under our rules that you should be trying to beat, and be getting competition practice while you are at it.
Thats it, rant over. Come and have a go if you think your hard enough.

June 12, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Would love to come, can’t afford it Mike 😊

    Comment by Lasse karlsson | June 12, 2016 | Reply

  2. Pity Lasse, if you came I might just dust off my distance gear

    Comment by Mike Heritage | June 12, 2016 | Reply

    • But you don’t feel the need to try and beat those that do turn up regularly?

      Comment by Brit Flycast | June 12, 2016 | Reply

    • But you won’t dust off your distance gear to beat those that bother to turn up regularly?

      Comment by Brit Flycast | June 12, 2016 | Reply

  3. But you don’t feel the need to dust off your distance gear to beat those of us who turn up regularly?

    Comment by Brit Flycast | June 12, 2016 | Reply

  4. Nice rant Mike, could not agree more and to those who have not attended one of our meetings please come along – you will be supprised how enjoyable the day is.

    Comment by nirogers | June 13, 2016 | Reply

  5. By the time Lasse ever gets here James my gear will be covered in cobwebs so I was safe in saying ‘dust off’, unfortunately ihe is not likely to be over any time soon.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | June 13, 2016 | Reply

  6. Thanks Nig, we have missed you

    Comment by Mike Heritage | June 13, 2016 | Reply


Leave a comment