Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Old Spice

There I was just sitting there chewing the fat and watching some nice casting when Magnus Angus from Fly Fishing and Fly Tying asked me if I would like to be interviewed. He had some new equipment he wanted to try out. So I was miked up and had a camera pointed at me. ‘What’s your name’ was my cue to then babble on for thirty seconds or so and I found myself saying that, essentially, I was here for the older person. Basically I was saying I am to oldies casting what the Spice Girls were to girl power, a zig a zig ha. I really hadn’t thought of it in those terms until now. I think it’s fair to say I am often the oldest person at the annual Sexyloops gathering, the oldest competitor anyway, and I have been for a while now. I am still slightly perturbed that, at my age, I am still worthy of being a notch on someone’s rod butt. I am not the oldest, by some margin, at a lot of the BFCC events. It’s actually very rewarding to see someone as old or older improve their casting to a point where they are happy to compete but the BFCC seems to bring the older caster back into the sport for some reason and most of them improve tremendously with a little bit of guidance. Of course there are some who, once they have the ability, can keep producing some stunning casting. For instance Mike Marshall was 73 when he took my seven weight record off me and still casts the tournament gear better than pretty well everyone in the club regularly putting a T115 well over 200ft, to our continues awe. I still get to win the odd event although it peeves me to be asked if I want to claim a record based on my age (which I feel I  have to otherwise records become meaningless).

So, if you are feeling you are may be a bit passed your best think again. Even as we slide into the autumn of our years we may still create the burst of colour that enhances and enriches our lives and puts the wind up some of the younger folk who think they have the right to beat us just because they are younger.

So far this year it has been quieter than last year. I haven’t done half as much instructing but I have been doing some traveling. Wales three times, one of them actually catching some fish and Scotland for ‘Loops gathering plus a trip to Devon and another to Hampshire for a day in the pouring rain. Apart from my holiday I don’t intend going aboard at all this year so I have plenty of time to add a few feet to the mature fly fisher who wants to go out in a blaze of colour by showing the youngsters that there is life in the old dog yet.

May 11, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Autumn is a great time of the year and in life. Good post Mike.

    Comment by Roger | May 12, 2013 | Reply

  2. I agree Roger, and there is no truth in the old saying – “Old Dogs” can be taught new tricks, it just takes a tad longer to sink in.

    Comment by nirogers | May 14, 2013 | Reply

  3. Hi Mike I agree too,I am 65 and not the best caster in the world but I try, hope to see you up builtwells again this year, I tried to have a chat last year but I think you were to busy getting into that Spey casting thing.
    Alan s

    Comment by Alan | May 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

