Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Back To The Drawing Board

I want to go fishing. Perhaps not so badly that I am willing to go out in the pouring rain and a howling gale but badly enough that the moment it eases I am off….maybe. Something always seems to get in the way at the moment. I did actually set off the other day, hit a puddle hidden pot hole, smashed a wheel and buckled another. Volvo alloys are bloody expensive! I am fed up with fishing puddles for stocked trout so my target is Pike. I have the Royal Military Canal quite close. I used to fish it a lot in my course fishing days. I don’t expect any big fish. I suspect ten pounds would be as big as it gets, but it should be fun. I have tied up some flies, dug out my seven weight and await an opportunity.

I have joined AAPGAI as an associate member. Because I am an IFFF Master I would be entitled to take their Master assessment. I think that’s a bit presumptive so I will aim for the Advanced. When I think I am ready. I have to get my head (and the rest of my body) around spey casting. In the IFFF we only need to show we know the basics but I believe the AAPGAI assessment is 60% or more geared to speys in their various forms so I have a lot to catch up with. I have commented before that I don’t have much use for spey casting in my normal fishing life, plus I have very limited locations where I can practice on water. Mind you, there are some big puddles around at the moment. It’s no longer a stroll to the bottom of my garden to get to the cricket field. Grass has its uses but spey casting isn’t one of them, unfortunately.

Albert the wonder dog shows no sign of being easy to teach. His natural inclination is to chase the line around and, if he catches it, chew it. Either that or chase birds, which don’t seem to see him as a threat. They just fly ahead of him just out of reach, which spurs him on to greater effort. My God he can run, he is like a mini Wippet.

I am going to create a blog dedicated to ‘The Group’ over Christmas. I say I but I mean she, Robyn, my son’s girlfriend. She does this sort of thing for a living and knows about these things, which is more than I do. I suspect my neighbors three-year old son knows more than I do. I visit other blogs, like Jim Williams and Marc Fauvets, and envy the many pics they put up. Another skill to learn.

I hope you all get want you want for Christmas. Don’t get too drunk.

 

December 22, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the Seasonal Wishes Mike, the same to you and yours and may the New Year be a bit more prosperous and a tad drier that the last one.

    Comment by nirogers | December 22, 2012 | Reply

  2. Nice read Mike, have a great Xmas.
    Alan

    Comment by Alan | December 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

