Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

And Now For Something Completely Different

You may remember a while back I said I wanted something to hold the attention of an audience when I demonstrated fly casting at shows. So, I got Albert, a six month old long haired  Chihuahua pup. I say pup but he will probably not get any bigger than he is now, which isn’t very big, but he is cute, which was the main criteria. The next problem is to train him to be a part of the demo. Quite what I will be able to get him to do is open to question. Watch this space.

The group I am setting up to help Instructors is starting to go in directions I hadn’t envisaged. It is broadening  into something that is, potentially, very exciting. Instead of focusing purely  on one certification we will now be able to help those of you that may want to try for any of the domestic associations as well. I do mean any. I have had offers of help from all of them and they will all be represented.

Let’s face it, Instructing is Instructing. Some of us may be more comfortable with some aspects more than others but we can learn from each other and add more bang for our clients buck, add new tools to our kit and generally become more rounded instructors.

Back to the little local difficulty on my previous post. I am still an IFFF member, and will continue to be one. There are issues to be sorted out and I hope they will be resolved. I cannot imagine this sort of issue would have arisen with our domestic associations simply because there is communication between  all members. This has highlighted the fact that there is no real avenue for communication between those that run the CICP for the IFFF and it’s members. You can’t expect the thick end of two thousand Instructors world wide just to sit back and ignore what’s going on or not to call for changes.

Now, back to the important stuff. Am I going to train Albert or is Albert going to train me? Can you teach a dog to fly cast?

 

November 16, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. You know what they say about dogs growing to look like their owners – you’d better keep some clippers handy otherwise Albert may start bumping into things!

    Just hope John R’s dog doesn’t see it as a snack at a BFCC meeting.

    Comment by James | November 16, 2012 | Reply

  2. Just don’t have him chasing flies…………..

    Comment by nirogers | November 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

