Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

FFF UK

Well, that went surprisingly well. Just over half of those that I have contacted have responded positively to the idea of forming some sort of FFF group in the UK. The other half are waiting to see what happens.

I have been an FFF instructor for four years. I think I assumed there was some sort of group, somewhere. I just hadn’t come across it yet. Wrong. After I became a Master it was a near constant niggle in the back of my mind wondering why such a group hadn’t been set up. Yes, I had been to European events in Denmark and Germany and for a couple of years the annual Sexyloops get together had an FFF element, including testing, but it wasn’t an inclusive group that included all FFF instructors. This is my attempt to create such a group.

I want to create a group blog where we can all post a profile, notify the rest of the group of an upcoming event, write an article and generally keep in touch with each other. I want to create a couple of ‘must do’ (in the sense that it’s too good to miss)  weekends where we get together to give workshops, demonstrations and talks. Perhaps we can, initially, run some mock tests for both CCI and MCCI candidates.

But first we have to have an initial meeting to work out how all this will work. I have been offered Sportfish in Reading and because its geographically convenient for a lot of us I propose our first meeting will be Saturday 1st December 2012.

This could be the start of something. Let’s make it happen.

Mike

August 15, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Hat’s off to ya Mike. 🙂

    Comment by Marc Fauvet | August 15, 2012 | Reply

  2. Are you coming Marc? I haven’t seen you since Kolding, last year February. I will be there.

    Rog

    Comment by Roger Miles | August 15, 2012 | Reply

  3. Thank you Mike. Not on my back doorstep (and not yours either :)). I will be there
    Andrew

    Comment by Andrew Parker | August 15, 2012 | Reply

  4. Mike, count me in.

    Comment by Steve Yeomans | August 16, 2012 | Reply

  5. Yup, I’ll be there as well. Look forward to it.

    Comment by Bryan Martin | August 16, 2012 | Reply

  6. sure, i’ll be there. i’ve missed enough meetings in the last few years, now i need to catch up !

    Comment by Marc Fauvet | August 16, 2012 | Reply

  7. Ooh, looking good. Are you sure you want to come to this one Marc? it will only be a one dayer to dot the i’s and cross the tee’s, run the flag up the pole and see which way the wind is blowing plus a bit of blue sky thinking…and maybe a pizza, or two. If you come you are welcome to stay at mine.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | August 16, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

