Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Saturation

Is it me? I ask myself. Am I the only one who is up to here with information? Am I the only one to raise a jaundiced eyebrow (and they take some raising I can tell you) at yet another debate that gets mired in technicalities.

I claim to be a poet but I’m not sure that is really a correct description. I am more your practical tradesman. I see a problem and I get over it or around it or under it. There is some thought process involved but not the endless theorising which still leaves you with the problem to get round, under or over. By the time the theorists have made a decision (which may be an oxymoron as I have never seen a theorist conclude anything) I have succeeded by trial and error and experience, (which theorists seem to ignore) and moved on to the next problem.

At the moment there is a discussion on the benefits of a bendy rod. Well, take a broom stick fishing and if you can’t see why it wasn’t one of your best ideas within the first thirty seconds you are in the wrong sport. It may be of some use, say, vaulting from one bank to the other without getting your feet wet, or as a wading staff, but as a fishing and casting tool it would rate along side a chocolate tea-pot in practicality.

There, I’ve run out of rant. Now what? It’s midday and it’s still minus two, which is beginning to feel quite normal. The six inches of snow we had last weekend is still four inches thick and makes it difficult to see the fly line when I am practicing. See? how dedicated am I? I suffer for my sport. Numb thumbs and a runny nose whilst talking to myself as I run through the presentations I will be giving in March. And, damn me if I wasn’t enjoying it, how bloody odd is that?

There is another interesting discussion going on about TLT or Italian style casting. I was going to give it a go in the field this morning but the only three weight line I have spooled up is white. I theorised for a few seconds and decided that a white line against a grey sky and a white field wasn’t going to allow me to see anything useful. I concluded I would be better off going back indoors, have a coffee, write this and then make myself a nice hot bowl of soup. After that I might pluck up the courage to throw a practical hand grenade into the discussion on the benefits of a bendy rod……or not.

February 12, 2012 - Posted by | fly casting, Fly Fishing, forum debates, Mike Heritage | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Hi Mike

    Nice one 😉
    Here it was -4 in the morning and snowing and just about all the waters around here are pretty stiff. Oh and it was snowing….
    Get your orange 140 out and reverse it, the runnningline is pretty much the same as a DT2-3 sans taper, but you’ll live without it 😎

    Cheers
    The practical theorist 😛

    Comment by Lasse Karlsson | February 12, 2012 | Reply

  2. See, I can live with a bit of lateral thinking Lasse, thanks. Yep we had snow this morning, now we have fog, and it’s still minus.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | February 12, 2012 | Reply

  3. [quote]the runnningline is pretty much the same as a DT2-3 sans taper[/quote]

    Fancy knowing stuff like that!

    Comment by andrew parker | February 12, 2012 | Reply

  4. I know Andrew, makes you sick don’t it.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | February 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Especially if you helped design it – Nice one Mike

      Comment by nirogers | February 14, 2012 | Reply

      • I have never got it out enough to have even seen the running line!

        Comment by Mike Heritage | February 14, 2012

  5. hi Mike. I’m with you on the masochistic training in the cold, it’s oddly rewarding to feel your dedication by not feeling your fingers anymore.
    Maybe you get the theorists wrong. The point is not really to reach conclusion fast, it’s more to get a good grip on the way to ask the question in order to get answers. That’s why a good deal is spent in discussing whether a model is useful or not for instance. Takes ages, but in the end you get a method to answer a whole range of questions correctly.

    Comment by la barbe du hotu | February 12, 2012 | Reply

  6. To be fair to the theorists, if it wasn’t for them instructors would still be saying the straightening of the bend is what propels the line forward.
    Someone on loops has the tag-line – ‘fly fishing; 200 years of tradition unencumbered by progress’, (or something similar) and the bollocks I hear on the bank I wholeheartedly agree.

    Comment by James Evans | February 12, 2012 | Reply

  7. “By the time the theorists have made a decision… I have succeeded by trial and error and experience, (which theorists seem to ignore) and moved on to the next problem.”

    That is very true. It only takes a few hours of casual observation to discover the incontrovertible truth: the sun turns around the earth.

    Cheers.

    Comment by aitorsnakeroll | February 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

