Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Busy Busy

What is the difference between a demonstration a workshop or a presentation? I guess a demo has to be entertaining as well as informative. You may be engaging with people who don’t have a clue what fly fishing or casting is about or the audience may all be fly fishers (you hope there is an audience at least). I don’t suppose there is much scope for audience participation, or there is but you would have to be supremely confident to drag someone out of the audience and hope you can pull off whatever you intend using them for. A workshop also wants to be entertaining and informative but you will expect participation from those attending. It will be more focused on one aspect rather than the broader brush used in a demonstration. Presentations fall somewhere between the two and are usually shorter, probably focusing on a detail that the presenter is interested in. A presentation could also be used to hone an aspect of a demo or workshop you may be working on.

I have shied away from all three in the past. I have done one or two small-scale demonstrations and I suppose the help I have given to anyone wanting to be an instructor can be classed as workshops, but I haven’t had the nerve to do a decent presentation. It is always in the company of your peers and I baulked at the thought I could teach any of them anything they didn’t already know. That was my excuse anyway, it was probably more a fear of looking a complete idiot in front of your friends. 

It’s all about to change. I have been asked to stand in at a two-day show that the regular (and well-known) presenter can’t attend this year. I am one of those people who find it hard to say no and often find myself doing something I don’t really want to be doing. The first reaction to being asked if I would do it was to say no, no, no. Thanks for asking and thinking I was good enough but No. There was several seconds of, you have too, no you don’t, yes you do, it will be great, no it won’t it will be a disaster, coward, chicken, you’re supposed to be a bloody master, where’s your balls? I don’t need this. Yes you do, do it……….. Yes, I’d love to do it, thank you so much.  Eight demos over two days???? Fuck, what have I let myself in for?

Then, I suddenly had a bright idea for a presentation as well so I can happily step forward at the sexyloops gathering in May instead of standing at the back hoping no-one will notice me.

Anyone know any good casting jokes?

 

 

January 3, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. Hey Mike, where’s your demo?… would love to ensure I’m there to offer support…

    I am so urging not to write ‘chuck curve balls at you and barrack you all afternoon’

    You’ll be great mate

    Jim

    Comment by Jim Williams | January 3, 2012 | Reply

  2. ok, i’ll start:
    why did the fly caster cross the road ?

    Comment by Marc Fauvet | January 3, 2012 | Reply

  3. I don’t know. Why did the caster cross the road?

    Comment by Mike Heritage | January 3, 2012 | Reply

  4. i hadn’t actually given it much thought but here’s a few ideas ! :mrgreen:

    Comment by Marc Fauvet | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  5. That’s cheating Marc. It’s like I always thought, there is nothing funny about fly casting!

    Comment by Mike Heritage | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • humour is in the eye of the beholder… 😉

      Comment by Marc Fauvet | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  6. There’s the one involving a couch and a wannabe actress. Casting and sexyloops certainly happened in that one.

    Comment by David Fisher | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  7. I have not made the 165 ….. level yet but I find that according to my side bar this week-end I have a gold star looming – 15 posts and I get a Gold Star, can’t wait. Lol as they say.

    Nigel

    Comment by nirogers | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  8. Just found this Jim, you were stuck in spam so I un spammed you. I need to have the demo officially confirmed, once it is I will tell you where it is but I can guarantee you will be the other end of the country that weekend.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | January 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

