Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Happy Christmas

In two days time I will have been writing this blog for three years and this is my 166th post and closing in on 30,000 hits. I doubt I have said anything that has improved anyones life.  Some of the 70,000 words have no doubt pissed a few people off and possibly even offended one or two, mostly unintentionally by the way. I started it to showcase my instructing, have the punters queuing around the block, knocking on the door or flooding me with emails requesting a few moments of my precious time. In that respect it has been a dismal failure. I can’t think of one person who has come to me as a direct result of this blog.

However, I have found that having an outlet to voice my opinion, clarify my thoughts and say some stupid things quite theraputic. Some posts just trip off the finger others are hard work. I was initially quite embarrassed when people told me they actually enjoyed reading the blog. I like to think it’s because my style is more conversational than instructional. I don’t know if it’s narcissistic to read your own stuff but I occassionally go back and read some of the old posts and quite enjoy it. I don’t remember writing half of them and I quite surprise myself sometimes.

A couple of years ago I gave Denise Maxwell, FFF CBOG, editor of the Loop and all round nice lady (grovel, grovel,) permission to lift anything she like from the site for the ezine. I thought she might take the odd one or two a year to help fill a gap if she ran out of articles. She hasn’t so much lifted as shoveled. I see another four in the Fall 2011 issue. Apparently she likes ‘another perspective’, whatever that means! It does mean that I really should watch what I write but I always forget.

I really enjoy the comments. Some have revised my opinion to the point that I have been tempted to go back and rewrite the post but I promise the only post I have ever re written was the original one when I passed my MCI. I have gone back and added a postscript occassionally. It often surprises me that the comments aren’t about the the main thust of the post but are aimed at some of the throwaway asides (usually in brackets). I can have 400 words of well thought out prose (yeah, as if)  but the comment is about the half a dozen tongue in cheek words I have added on the spur of the moment. I do appreciate your comments, some recent ones have been more entertaining than the original post. Thank you.

I would like to wish everyone a Very Happy Christmas and a Joyful New Year.

My first post that didn’t mention c****** once

December 24, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Mike,
    A Merry Christmas to you and yours and may the New Year be a prosperous one, look forward to seeing you at Wrexham.
    Nigel

    Comment by nirogers | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  2. A big Christmas shout to you and your family Mike.
    Looking forward to many more sessions/workshops/arguments and lunches in the New Year.
    Can’ wait for it to snow, so I can come down there to throw a line with you and watch you turn blue and miserable, aaah those were the days.

    Rog

    Comment by Roger | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  3. “I doubt I have said anything that has improved anyones life.”

    Mike, for someone as insightful as you, you often do seem to be wrong, do you know that 😉 I think you just do that on purpose!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family, have a good one 🙂

    Cheers
    Someone who has had their life improved by knowing you!

    Comment by Lasse Karlsson | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  4. Aw shucks guys, I feel a warm glow. Thank you

    Comment by Mike Heritage | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  5. Merry Christmas, Mr Heritage. 🙂

    Comment by Stefan Paetow MCIJ (@stefanpaetow) | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  6. Merry Christmas Mike. What Lasse said!

    Thanks

    W.

    Comment by Will | December 25, 2011 | Reply

  7. “I doubt I have said anything that has improved anyones life”

    ..I agree with Lasse and Will……there must have been something, sometime…. 🙂

    Comment by stoatstail50 | December 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

