Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

165 Not Out

I have no other reason other than curiosity for posting this. Whenever I click on the publish tag it opens a WordPress page that says something like Hey well done, this your one hundred and whatever post, it consists of 450 words or whatever. The last post told me it was my 164th post and next to it was ‘one to go’ and a gold star was flashing beside it. I have no idea what the significance of post 165 is. Perhaps the computer will expire, perhaps there will be a fanfare or flashing light. It’s a bit like fishing, the anticipation is probably more exciting than the reality.

While I am here I may as well write something. My casting is shite. I have just come in from an hour or two in the field with Roger and my head is hung in shame, or perhaps that’s just the drink I had in the pub. Anyway, no amount of drink will alter the fact that I need to go out and practice. I’ve been fishing, in fact I have been several times recently, but fishing is not casting practice. Once you tie a fly on your focus tends to be on anything but your casting…was that a take? Ohl look, a woodpecker, look at those reflections on the water, where’s the sun, its bloody freezing. I can’t feel my hands, I knew I should have looked a bit harder for my gloves. I’ll be glad when I have had enough! (Fred J Taylor or Peter Stone circa 1960 (ish)).

No, there is no substitute for dedicated casting practice……… It’s raining with a few flakes of snow mixed in.

Maybe tomorrow.

Ok, let’s see the significance of post 165

EDIT:

Goal of 165 Posts Completed

100%

Congratulations!

I loved words. I love to sing them and speak them and even now, I must admit, I have fallen into the joy of writing them. — Anne Rice

Jeez, I had a goal and didn’t realize. Yep, just like fishing!

December 18, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Damn good job Mike! Keep it up.

    It was FJT by the way. Think he said it to Richard Walker when they were winter fishing for chub on the Ouse.

    W.

    Comment by Will | December 18, 2011 | Reply

  2. Mike
    It could be something to do with feet into metres mate, 165 ft is that magic 50 metre mark mate..8)
    All the best to you, look forward to meeting up again next year…;)
    Cheers
    Leelad

    Comment by Lee Cummings | December 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

