Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

My Little Dew Drop

I have been sitting here trying to find the right music on Spotify to match my mood. I have gone from Kate Bush to Morcheeba to Jimmi Hendrix and have settled on classical guitar and John Williams. I’m hoping that Al Hambra is there somewhere. It will bring back memories of the good old days, when I was young, when Jack Hargreaves and Out Of Town were an almost religious must watch every week. My wife bought me a box set a couple of years ago and I like to watch them now and then. He was surprisingly earthy and near the knuckle. It all  went over my head when I was a youngster but I found it slightly shocking when I re-watched them as an adult. Apart from anything else the bits about fishing, especially pike fishing, show just how attitudes have changed in the last thirty or forty years. I would get lynched today if anyone found me fishing with a Jardine snap tackle with a live roach pulling a bung around then sticking a gaff under the pikes jaw to land it.

 I have been tying quite a few flies lately and have discovered Bug Bond. No more messing around mixing epoxy, just a quick flash of ultra violet and Bobs your uncle. I created a lovely Corixa with a Bug Bond air bubble trapped underneath which I am going to call the Dew Drop. Whether it will catch fish or not is another matter. In fact it doesn’t matter whether the fish like it or not, I like it, and the name made me laugh so it’s worth it’s place in my fly box just for the chuckle it will give me whenever I open it. If you ever see me rolling around the bank clutching my sides you will know I have just caught a fish on my Dew Drop.

I seem to have upset one or two people on Gordy Hills online group. Someone had the temerity to wonder if we weren’t taking things a bit too far when things got a bit deep into the minutia of a fly cast. His main point was just how relevent was all this to being an instructor and did he really have to understand it all on his way to taking his Masters. This struck a chord so I posted my agreement. It’s something I have been wondering about for quite a while. Where do you draw the line between what is necessary to know and what is interesting for its own sake.

It’s just a fact of life that as an instructor to anyone just wanting to improve their casting you try to keep it simple. You use half-truths or perceived truths to paint word pictures to try to get an idea across. Slow down, let the rod do the work is one I use knowing full well the rod does bugger all. There are plenty of other examples of over simplification. Yes I know that as my understanding gets greater the more I modify my instructing to suit but I am always aware that there is a line that shouldn’t normally be crossed. In practical terms it means that I don’t get to use 75% of the stuff I have learned over the past few years. Of course this all changes when I help someone to prepare for their casting assessment. I am then allowed to let it rip, give them everything, with both barrels, and very liberating it is too.

WTF is an Azimuth anyway?

December 1, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

12 Comments »

  1. WTF is an Azimuth anyway?

    Jeeze Mike… how many times man ??

    Comment by stoatstail50 | December 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. As many times as it takes Mark

    Comment by Mike Heritage | December 1, 2011 | Reply

  3. Azimuth were a nifty Jazz Funk combo from the late ’70’s/early 80’s I think. I thought every instructor knew this?

    W.

    Comment by Will | December 2, 2011 | Reply

  4. hi Mike,
    “Where do you draw the line between what is necessary to know and what is interesting for its own sake.”
    as far as i’m concerned, one can’t even formulate a valid opinion if there isn’t a certain knowledge of both sides. an instructor who prefers to not even know there are different schools and opinions should just step down.
    on another note, what i’m noticing more and more is so many teachers feel the need to over explain (a form of intellectual bravado as it where) when most often there isn’t a need.
    not usually one to say ‘never’, the current ‘Fulcrum’ thread on SL has taught me that it’s extremely unlikely i’ll ever use that particular word in casting instruction again…

    cheers,
    marc

    ps- could you please ditch the Fly Casting France blogroll link ? the site hasn’t existed in years ! 😆
    thelimpcobra.com is a bit more current 😉 thanks !

    Comment by Marc Fauvet | December 2, 2011 | Reply

  5. btw, thanks for the video, Will. that explains all i wanted to know :mrgreen:

    Comment by Marc Fauvet | December 2, 2011 | Reply

  6. It’s difficult to know where to draw the line Marc. As you gain new understanding it can’t help but colour the way you instruct but not every thing we learn or discuss is appropriate for anyone just wanting to improve their casting and fishing. In fact it would bore most to death.

    I will sort out the blog thingy when I work out how.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • cool, we’re basically saying the same thing… 😆

      Comment by Marc Fauvet | December 2, 2011 | Reply

  7. Hi Mike,

    Why do you think that your comment has upset anybody?
    It seems that it is the other way round: the temerity shown by two or three instructors by expressing a different point of view about casting has upset most of the others. 🙂

    Comment by aitorsnakeroll | December 3, 2011 | Reply

  8. Mike,
    You’re going to love me for this one – An azimuth is the angular measurement in a sperical coordinated system. The vector from an observer to a point of interest is projected perpendicularly onto a reference plane; the angle between the projected vector and a reference vector on the reference plane is called the AZIMUTH. Its all to do with navigation at sea (or was before they brought in Sat Nav) what it means is the compass bearing of a star as measured along the horizon. I did not know that it played music as well.
    Nigel

    Comment by nirogers | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  9. I ran that through Bing translator Rog and it came back language unknown.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  10. Hi Aitor,

    I was pleased to see that in later posting one or two others agreed with me.

    Have you started a blog? I couldn’t link to it. If you have I would be pleased to add it to the Blog Roll if you will alllow me to.

    Mike

    Comment by Mike Heritage | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  11. Mike,
    Thanks for your offering but no blog. I prefer to express myself through my Vimeo account only. If you want to link that you are welcome, but I don’t think it is something that can be of interest to anybody here.

    Comment by aitorsnakeroll | December 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

