Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

She’s In The ‘House’

The two stand out faults I most often see are too much effort and a totally crap back cast. Mostly they are linked, that’s to say because there has been too much effort, the rod tip gets thrown back too far and  very wide or non loops are the result. I even see the line laying on the ground in a heap behind them sometimes and they are oblivious to it. If, as they often are, they are keen to improve their distance and practice quite a bit then all they are doing is practicing their faults to the point where they become ingrained as muscle memory and very difficult to eradicate. You can show them over and over how to cast properly, ”see that nice loop? See how it cuts through the wind? See how it keeps the line tight? See how little effort it takes?” You hand them the rod back and realise you may as well have been talking to the rod as they completely ignore what you have just shown and told them. So we go over it again….and again….and again. Until, finally, the penny drops and they get it. They suddenly add ten feet to their distance. Whoa, big smiles all round. You think you’ve cracked it. Wonderful. Well done. Fantastic.

The problem is I am pretty sure that the next time I see them they will have reverted back to effort over technique and we will have to start all over again. The red mist of chasing distance for its own sake (I know, I have been there) will have over-ridden the brain again.

Up to ninety feet, or even 100′ technique will out-do effort every time. Once you reach that point then you need to add focused effort to good technique to cast further. It’s almost impossible to do it the other way round.

This may seem a very harsh post but I am writing this with one particular person in mind (and she knows who she is). If a literary kick up the arse inspires her to maintain her technical progress then so be it. I’m aiming at 35yds.

 

October 10, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. consider her booted!

    Comment by James Evans | October 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. You are not the first to assume I was talking about Tracy James. I was actually writing about another woman. The ‘House’ is the clue.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | October 10, 2011 | Reply

  3. I don’t think I’ll tell her as she might boot me back! Still relevant though.

    Comment by James Evans | October 10, 2011 | Reply

  4. I assume you are referring to me! I will consider my arse booted. With practice I hope to prove you wrong next time we meet. Love Wendy X

    Comment by Wendy | October 11, 2011 | Reply

  5. Good technique will bring you further than 100 feet before adding more effort, but the other way around goes faster …

    Comment by Lasse Karlsson | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  6. I won’t be un gallant by naming names Wendy. However, don’t listen to Lasse or we will be back to square one.

    Nice of you to pop in BTW.

    Mike

    Comment by Mike Heritage | October 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Don’t worry Mike, I will listen to the experts from the BFCC. I was so thrilled to get my 25 yards, Mike H is right (But don’t tell him!). I do listen, but the brain and hands have a will of their own. You all make it look so easy and graceful. I have get to grips with looking at my back cast and not throwing and thrashing the line about. Slow things down and keep an eye on my loops.

      Comment by Wendy | October 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

