Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

And So It begins

A few ideas have been on the back-burner for a while as I have been concentrating on other things, or, one other thing anyway (I am a one thing at a time sort of person).

Nothing is concrete, or even in the mixer yet. I have to discuss things with people I hope will also be involved before I can firm things up. I think my aim is to give something back to a hobby or sport, call it what you will, that has been the focus for a huge part of the last eleven years and has given me so much pleasure and personal achievement.

I have bemoaned the fact that my part of the country is not very well served for those of us interested in fly fishing and especially fly casting. If I had a pound for all the solitary hours I have spent practicing I would be quite a wealthy man. Unfortunately I wasn’t and I’m not!

The general idea is to help prepare people who want to become instructors by running mentoring sessions, workshops and pre test run throughs. I am hoping this will not be any association specific but there may be hurdles to this, we will just have to see how it pans out.

Another thing I intend to try to do in the near future is hold a BFCC regional event at the bottom of my garden. There is a cricket pavilion that can host a social event after the casting is over (bar and all). The lack of  which is something I have heard a few moans about over the years. Provided there are three BFCC members present to ratify distances then casts will also be eligible for club records, if any are broken. There is enough space for all the events to be run provided I can get hold of the club T38 and T120 rods. I need to discuss possible dates with the cricket club before I can finalize details.

So there we are.  Big ideas and not much of a clue how to get them to fruition. Anyone with ideas feel free to email me.

So there

May 21, 2011 - Posted by | BFCC, fly casting, Fly Fishing, Flycasting instruction, Mike Heritage

7 Comments »

  1. Hi Mike,
    Well pleased at your result and possibly even more so at Rodgers no surprises either way. I have always gone the gaia route but see no impediment to your mentoring for any of the ambitions. Out of season I would be well up for the distance world as I am sure many others would be.
    All the best
    Tony

    Comment by Tony | May 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks Tony. Sounds like a plan to me.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | May 22, 2011 | Reply

  3. You mentioned the possibility of a BFCC event in your neighbouring cricket field to me on the way back from Sportfish. I would certainly attend and be willing to help out with any of the normal tasks.

    The problem I see is that to most BFCC members, Kent is rather out on a limb. A reasonable turnout is needed to ensure success, but would sufficient people make the effort?

    Comment by David Fisher | May 22, 2011 | Reply

  4. Another good idea, I’ll be there. Could also help out if needed.

    Alan

    Comment by Alan Sandom | May 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. Thanks guys, I will let you know a date when I have worked a few things out.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | May 23, 2011 | Reply

  6. I’m sure I could make it over to Kent, especially if beer is on offer. Has anyone ever worked out the optimum alcohol content for distance casting?

    Comment by James Evans | May 24, 2011 | Reply

  7. Not that I know of James, it could be an interesting experiment.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | May 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

