Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Friday The Thirteenth

Not an auspicious day to take your test is it? Not that I am superstitious or anything but….bugger. It’s all going to be a bit of a rush as well. I land at about 11am and then have a one hour drive to be ready for a 1.30 start for the test itself.

How has my preparation gone? Good question. Honest answer is I don’t know. I know what I know, my casting is ok, I’m feeling pretty good about it but it is a step into the unknown so we will have to see how it goes.

I am scheduled to help test CCI’s the day after my test, I’m not sure how that works if I have failed the day before but as I know one or two who are being tested for their CCI I will only be an observer on a couple of them. The thing is I am more nervous about that than I am about taking my own test. How weird is that?

As part of my test I have to give a ten minute workshop, more a talk really, and my subject is Keeping it Simple and it’s to do with instructing rather than casting or fishing. Easy I thought. A week after I had been notified of my subject I realised Keeping it Simple is actually quite bloody difficult. I wonder how slowly I can talk and how many umm and ahh’s I can put in to fill ten minutes? The CCI candidates will certainly be relaxed by the time I finish. I will probably have to kick them awake to go out and take their test.

I am getting a bit paranoid about injuring myself between now and next Friday (the 13th). I have a physical job and it’s quite easy to do something stupid and hurt yourself. I must have bruised my right hand somehow a day or two ago and it was giving me a problem casting yesterday, luckily it was gone this morning  when I went out for an early morning session.

The BFCC are at the Sportfish do this weekend, I will be there tomorrow (Sunday). If you are there pop over and say Hi. 

And finally, the good news. Roger has passed the GIAC assessment and is now a bona fida casting instructor. Bloody well done, you worked hard for it and deserve it. Good luck next weekend.

May 7, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Mike,

    All the very best for next weekend. Pass on my congrats to Roger next time you see him.

    Comment by James Evans | May 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hey Mike, I won’t make it up there until after you’ve done your test so I’ll wish you all the best now. I’m betting you’ll nail it!

    See you Friday pm.

    W.

    Comment by Will | May 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. Will do James, and give Tracy the kiss she missed from you on your birthday. Great cast BTW.

    Cheers Will, I won’t count my chickens though.

    Mike

    Comment by Mike Heritage | May 7, 2011 | Reply

  4. ‘merde’ Mike. that’s french… ;D

    Comment by marc fauvet | May 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

