Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Ready Steady Go

We’re off and running. The first event of the year is out of the way. Newark, Newark, so cold they named it twice! You have to be slightly mad to get up and 4.30 am to drive 180 miles just to stand in a cold, wet and windy field for two days.

 I do these events for several reasons. 1) is to repay the BFCC for all they have done for me. 2) just for the pleasure of instructing and 3) for the instructing tips I pick up over the weekend. 1 and 2 are good enough reasons on their own but 3 is the icing on the cake for me. I have picked up tips from Jim Fearne every year that I have been there that immediately go into my box of useful tools and have got me out of more than one hole. This year I also had an eye opener from Steve Kemp in the way to look at curve casts. I can’t wait for the weekend so I can go play with them.

 We had some fun with a  flying gazebo but it did leave us out in the cold for a day and a half, and it was bloody cold.

 We (the BFCC) are moving with the times and we tested James Evans program that puts the results onto a computer and it spits out the placings immediately and we used walkie talkies for the first time so the those recording the results could stay nice and snug and protected from the weather while we casters and markers didn’t have to run a hundred yards to shout the score every three minutes.

 You know, the more I get into my masters preparation the more I find that no two people see the tasks the same way and, more importantly, no two assessors seem to want exactly the same thing. It has the advantage that you have to be open-minded and be prepared to perform some of the tasks differently than you might normally. It’s a good job I don’t have any fixed expectations about the test. I do keep getting some worrying hints about the scope of the questions I might be asked. They are in areas I don’t, at the moment, know much about. Thank goodness for Google.

March 3, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Great stuff Mike! ….. it’ll soon be May

    Comment by Mike Barrio | March 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

