Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Madness

You’re creeping.

”Am I?” What’s creeping?

 You are anticipating the next stroke by bringing the rod forward a bit instead of staying back while the loop unrolls.

”Oh, ok”

See, that’s better, you didn’t tail that time.

”Oh yes, fantastic. Why has it stopped the line tangling?”

Tailing.

” Whats tailing?”

When the line crosses itself as the loop unrolls.

”Tangling”

Tailing, it’s called a tailing loop.

”The loop isn’t tangling, sorry tailing, the line is”

I bet you’re an engineer.

”Yes, how did you guess?”

Luck

”so, why did creeping give me a tailing loop?”

Because it reduced the casting arc you need to make a good loop.

(five minute demo of variable casting arc)

Ok, back to the false casting. You’re creeping again.

” I know”

What do you mean you know.

”I just want to see what happens”

Ah, you’re not creeping then.

”I am”

You’re not, you are drifting.

”I’m creeping”

You’re drifting

”I’m doing exactly what I was doing before”

No, you’re not

”I am”

You are doing it intentionally.

”So?”

It’s now drift.

”The line is still tang..tailing”

Well stop drifting then.

”What’s the difference between drifting and creeping?”

Intent.

”Let’s get this right. If I know I am creeping I am drifting. If I don’t know I am drifting it’s creep”

Spot on, creeping is a fault, drift isn’t.

”I didn’t realise there was so much involved in fly casting”.

Ok, you can stop drifting now, your leader is knotted to buggery.

”Damn, that was creep that time”

January 22, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Brave man

    Comment by Tony | January 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Very brave man..

      Comment by Mark | January 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. or stupid

    Comment by Mike Heritage | January 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. Like it 🙂

    Comment by James Evans | January 23, 2011 | Reply

  4. Incidentally, I guess as an instructor you can now never demonstrate creep!

    Comment by James Evans | January 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. Excellent Mike. Just about sums it up! I think they should just put this into the definitions. Job done!

    W.

    Comment by Will | January 24, 2011 | Reply

  6. you rule Mike ! 😀

    Comment by marc fauvet | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  7. Exellent Mike!

    Comment by Grunde | February 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

