Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Deep And Crisp And Even

Ah, I see my son Stuart has been proving his ability to plug into the digital world and put a huge spike in my site visitors. I’m probably too late to apologise to those who have been and gone, and won’t be back, but to those of you who are still being directed here, Merry Christmas.

 It’s 6.30 AM Christmas morning, I should still be in bed. The day’s when I used to be dragged out of bed at four in the morning by two over excited boys are long gone, thank goodness. Well, I say thank goodness but I am not sure I mean it. Kid’s are really what it’s all about and without their excitement to offset my grumpiness I am left just, well, grumpy.

 It doesn’t help when I feel totally out of my depth in a lot of the discussions going on on the board. The engineers are taking over the world and leaving me behind. I can’t beat them and I can’t join them so I am left in a kind of limbo land of half grasped theories and frustration. The main frustration is why. Why do we need to know? Why are they going into such minutia? Why don’t I understand?

 We are having the coldest and snowiest winter since……………last year! Weather forecasters are trying to out do each other for dramatic presentation. Perhaps they have some kind of meteorological Oscar for the most dire forecast or how many severe weather warnings they can give in two minutes. Weather was never so dramatic in my day, it just happened and you put up with it. A bit like Christmas.

 We have however enjoyed some very calm, if bloody freezing, days where I could go out into the field and cast. Snow can have it’s uses. I was fascinated to see, imprinted in knee deep snow, how my stance changed depending on the type of cast I was doing.

It’s now 7am and I am tempted to take my wife up a cup of tea so we can get on with opening some presents but Stuart is staying with us and he can be a really miserable git if he gets woken too early. I don’t have a clue where he gets it from.

 May all your presents be useful,

 Happy Christmas.

 Really.

December 25, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. If you take a small set of steps on our next mentoring session, I will use them to climb up to slap the grumpiness out of ya.

    If you are going to give your casting a rest, then give the board a rest.

    I have three different hobbies and two different ways of life. Oh and I just love the winter. Cast in the dark with the new “glow in the dark” lines Mike, you will love it.

    Comment by Roger Miles | December 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. “The engineers are taking over the world” and it couldn’t be any more boring…

    Comment by marcfauvet | December 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hi Mike, Hope xmas lived up to expectations? as for the snow! glad to see the back of it, am now waiting for the water to become liquid again, All the best for the coming year and hope to get out on the grass with you again.

    Regards – Alan

    Comment by Alan Sandom | December 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

