Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Hog Heaven

That went well, thank goodness. My only real experience of a group of dedicated fly casting instructors is the annual Sexyloops get together and at those I have always been impressed by the free flow of information. Imagine my growing pleasure at finding the same enthusiasm at the GAIA meeting in Caer Beris last weekend. Hog Heaven.

 I am glad I made the effort to get up at 3am to drive over 250 miles. It meant I was there in time for a cup of coffee before I could enjoy the  workshop given by Leslie Holmes and Mark Roberts on presentation casts. Just the tips I learned in that workshop alone made the trip worth while.

 My workshop on distance casting seemed to be well received. I was in a bit of a quandary as to how I should present it but luckily I was sensible enough to have made a few notes to refer to when things got a bit sticky. I didn’t need to refer to them very often but I’m glad I made them. Once the introduction was over I worked my way through the cast and things fell naturally into place. And, actually, this was the most important lesson I learned over the weekend. Know your subject. I had no problem talking and demoing distance for an hour and a half. I could not have done  Leslie and Marks workshops on presentation or the one Phil Maher did on the Five Essentials with anything like the authority they did.

 I have bemoaned the fact that I do not have a FFF MCI who is easily available to me as I prepare to take my Masters. There were five of the buggers at Caer Beris. Each and every one offered to help me in my preparation. They may regret the offer.

 If this had happened in a FFF environment it would have re enforced my opinion that all FFF instructors are nice guys, however, it happened in a GAIA environment so it must be that all casting instructors are nice guys. Out of the sixty instructors attending I didn’t see one example of ego. Everyone was free with their time and ready with an answer if asked a question.

 I can only speak as I saw, and what I saw only impressed me.

 I recently read that to really be good at something you need to put in about 10000 hours of practice. I have done a rough calculation and I have worked out I am about 2000 hours short of the mark. Those two thousand hours become apparent when I look at the gap between me and the true masters whose company I had the pleasure of being in over the weekend. The gap will need to be narrowed considerably between now and next May. My original intention was to take the assessment with the expectation that I would fail it but gain valuable experience for the next time. I just might revise that.

 Thankyou GAIA for the invitation and your hospitality. And a special thanks to those that were so free with their time and encouragement.

November 17, 2010 - Posted by | Distance casting, fly casting, Flycasting instruction, Mike Heritage, Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Glad you enjoyed the weekend Mike, it was good of you to get involved. You have an open invite anytime in the future.
    Cheers Mike

    Comment by Mike Roden | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Mike,

    It was a pleasure to meet you over the weekend, good to see the Bouncing Bomb, the gasps as the BC took off was worth it alone, a great demo and lots of fun had by all, I’m sure casting instructors the whole world over have the same sick sense of humour though, we would have soon ruined your tracking for you

    LOL

    Chris

    Comment by Chris Aldred | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks guys. It was a genuine pleasure.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. thanks for the comments Mike. We have worked really hard over the past few years to get to what you saw at the weekend and to have an independent view/opinion as you have given justifies the work.
    Hope you will join us all again soon
    Best wishes
    Mark

    Comment by Mark Roberts | November 18, 2010 | Reply

  5. Great to meet you Mike and see those awesome casts you deliver. Glad you enjoyed the event as much as the rest of us. Now, where’s that 5 weight?

    Comment by Bryan Martin | November 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

