Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Friends, Who Needs ’em?

Fly casting is such a simple thing, on the face of it. Yet even after ten years of pretty intensive casting, discussing, instructing and being instructed something comes up to make you look at everything again but from a slightly different angle. The odd thing is you may have to make only some very minor adjustments to what you are already doing. It isn’t necessary to make wholesale changes, it may be as simple as a slightly different visualisation of the whole process of casting a fly line.

The case in point, at the moment, is head casting. I have always appreciated the necessity of slowing down loop speed and I have tried lots of different devises to try to achieve it, none of them particularly effective. For those that don’t understand the dilemma, here is the problem. Once a loop is formed it will travel to the end of the line and turnover. While the loop is unrolling it will pull the shooting line along. Once the loop has unrolled the whole lot will just collapse to the ground way before it would have done if you could have delayed the turn over. Heads, by definition, are much shorter than a normal fly line. They can vary from 30′ to 60′, more or less. Once a loop has formed there is only a very limited time before it turns over and collapses. The shorter the head the worse the problem. This was why I used long heads when trying to discover a way of winning the CLA saltwater comp. It was always a compromise solution and never very satisfactory (and I never won, though I got close one year). My hatred of the T38 and the T120 events at BFCC meetings stem from the same problem, only exacerbated by the fact both are high density lines where line speed and turnover are phenomenally fast and I would watch the loop turn over like lightning and collapse in a bloody heap at a distance I could sometimes achieve with a conventional seven weight. Those of you with a sharp eye may have noticed I cast a reasonably respectable distance at last weekends Brentwood meeting with both the T38 and the T120. Neither are earth shattering but both, as far as I know, represent personal bests. The best thing about them is that I was consistently in the same ballpark with pretty well every cast rather than just managing to get one to a bit further than the others.

 Now, apparently, this phenomenon I have finally discovered is not such a big secret. I have discussed it with one or two friends and they have told me they have known about it for years. Well, thanks for telling me about it guy’s. Thank you for making me sweat blood and tears. Thank you for making me look a complete amateur. Thank you for letting me waste endless hours throwing lines that collapse in a mess. Thank you for the disenchanted trudge back home after another hour of pointless practice.

 Thank you Ruddi Ferris for finally showing me the way to enlightenment and competence and restoring some self-respect.

October 16, 2010 - Posted by | BFCC, Distance casting, fly casting, Flycasting instruction, forum debates, Mike Heritage, Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. So what’s the secret? Come on, spill the beans!

    Comment by James Evans | October 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. You’re a friend James, so I can’t tell you!

    Give me a while to work out what actually happens, or what I think happens and I will do a peice on it.

    Mike

    Comment by Mike Heritage | October 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. I am not your friend so tell me and I can tell my true friend James. LOL

    Comment by Roger Miles | October 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I have already discussed it with you Rog. See, it’s such an innocuous little thing you have forgotten it already.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | October 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

