Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Obsession, Talent, Or Pure Luck

I have been invited by GAIA to give a distance workshop at their meeting in November. I have a rough idea about my presentation (don’t worry guy’s, I will work on it) but it has set me thinking about why some can cast distance and some can’t. I have a friend who is convinced it’s because I am tall, another because I am quite strong. I think that’s rubbish, but then I would wouldn’t I. I don’t believe it has anything, or very little, to do with strength, or size, for that matter. I know a few excellent distance casters who are not big. I know a skinny fifteen year old who sometimes casts further than me. I admit I only know one woman who I would rate as a distance caster, why there aren’t a few more I don’t know. It’s probably that women are less susceptible to allowing themselves to get obsessed by casting in the same way that a man might do, or did do, in my case. Ah, perhaps that’s the reason, I got obsessed, the rest of you are just mildly interested. One very simple reason may be that I just have to walk to the bottom of my garden and I have a damn great cricket field to cast in, whereas you may have to get in you car to find somewhere to cast and then suffer those stupid comments about there not being any fish out there mate, which I rarely have to, although I do get the odd drunk stagger over from the pavilion and ask what the f*** are you doing?

 Anyway, this is not working out why I can cast 120 pretty much whenever I want and you can’t (not you, I know you can) . Yes, I have spent the last ten years working on my technique. Yes, I have picked some of the best distance brains in the world. Yes,  I have had the good fortune to have met and cast with some really good casters and, yes, I have some great friends who have given me a lot of their time. All of that is great but at the end of the day the rod is in my hand and it’s me that has to make the cast and I really struggle to understand why everyone else can’t do what I do.

 One thing I am not burdened with is the belief that if only I had such and such a rod, or line, I would be able to cast so much further. I lost that particular myth years ago, thank goodness. So long as there is that particular doubt in your mind then you will keep making misplaced excuses. As the old saying goes ‘it’s a bad tradesman who blames his tools’. Most of you have the best tools out there anyway. At the recent BFCC meeting at Wrexham I was looking through a veritable forest of rods, a lot of them Angel2TE red.

So, here we are five hundred words later and I am still none the wiser, and neither are you I bet.

August 8, 2010 - Posted by | BFCC, Distance casting, fly casting, Flycasting instruction, Mike Heritage

3 Comments »

  1. Oh, but wiser I am! It’s in those 500 words you just have to look at it the right way 🙂

    Cheers
    Lasse

    Ps. Had hoped you would be on the English team next week!

    Comment by Lasse Karlsson | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hi Lasse,

    I would have loved to be in the England team but circumstances just wouldn’t allow it this time, maybe next year.

    So, why do you think some can’t and some can?

    Comment by Mike Heritage | August 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Mike

      If you’re quick then grab Paul’s slot in the team, you’d do better than him anyway 😛

      I think everybody can, those who say they can’t, just won’t put in the effort and time needed.It’s just easier to say you can’t. Than to admit that you really would like to, but won’t put in the blood, sweat and tears the rest of us have done. Then rather go looking for the next new wonder in the tackle shop that we all deep down knows is nothing more than smoke in our eyes 😉

      Cheers
      Lasse

      Comment by Lasse Karlsson | August 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

