Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Exciting Times!

The most exciting thing in my life at the moment is counting how many runner beans have germinated over night. I’m quite a keen gardener but things are a bit sad if the highlight of my day is finding another shoot or two in the bean row. We’re up to ten now, if you are interested.

 I won’t bore you with the sordid details but like so often in my life I either have time and no money or money and no time. Time on my hands has one or two benefits though, the garden hasn’t been so tidy and weed free for years.

 I am finally doing something active to promote my casting instruction and I have plenty of time to go out and practice all the casts I will need for my Masters. I do rather enjoy working out how I can get the fly to one place and my line in another. I do have one bogey cast that I have never got anywhere near mastering and that is the steeple cast, thank God I have never found myself in a situation where I actually need to perform it. I watched Paul do it (again) at the course and shootout we had at his place last weekend. I keep forgetting to film it. His upward cast (the steeple bit) is vertically in front of him, I can do that bit. What I just cannot figure out is how to get a decent cast back out in front of me, I just end up with a messy pile a rod length out.

 I will be in Wrexham next Sunday for the BFCC. It looks as if it will be a great day. We are fully subscribed and I wouldn’t mind betting one or two will just turn up on the day.

 The following weekend I am hoping to go and see Steve Rajeff cast, in the flesh, at Sportfish.

 That’s something to look forward to.

 Right, let’s go see if any more beans are up.

June 5, 2010 - Posted by | BFCC, fly casting, Flycasting instruction, Mike Heritage

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Mike

    Just a tip on the steeple (yes I’ve used it in fishing ;-))Try it as a galway cast, and go over the tip in the vertical backcast, then come forward as a sweeping sidecast. Add a haul for kicks.

    Cheers
    Lasse

    Comment by Lasse Karlsson | June 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

