Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Will I, Won’t I?

I am under some subtly employed pressure to have a go at my FFF Masters. I am still slightly ambivalent, if that’s possible. I  enjoyed the process of preparing for my CCI but the masters is several times more intense and moves into areas I am not comfortable with. I became an instructor to teach fly casting, nothing else. A bit myopic I guess but that’s my comfort zone.

 Another thing is that I know several Masters. Would I put myself in their class? No, I wouldn’t, and there’s the rub. When do you know you are a Master? When you pass the test? Nah, I think there’s a bit more to it than that.

 However, I am quite good at making excuses for not doing something so perhaps I should just bite the bullet and get on with it. I will probably have a choice of three places to take the test, Germany, Hungary or Scotland. unfortunately (not) I have missed the boat for this year as they have either happened or they are just coming up and I am most certainly not ready, by a mile, to just turn up and chance my arm.

 Bugger, have I just made a decision? Hmm, we’ll see. Watch this space

May 3, 2010 - Posted by | fly casting, Flycasting instruction, Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Don’t think about it Mike… do it!
    You’ll enjoy the challenge of training fo it more than the certification no doubt.
    🙂

    Comment by Kevin Knight | May 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Kev, nice of you to take time away from runnin, swimmin and ridein. You will have to come down for a chuck, I’m a much better instructor these days.

      Comment by Mike Heritage | May 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yeah Kevin

    Get down there as once old “bushy” qualifies I will have to be there to make sure he charges the right rate. I think I might put myself forward to be his agent.

    Seriously Mike, I already think of you as a master in the way you teach me, so good luck.

    Comment by Roger Miles | May 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

