Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Twist and Shout

A strange day on the water. I don’t recollect fish reacting to being hooked like it before. No runs or leaps just a twisting figure of eight in the same spot, a couple even carried on for a few moments after I had released them. One in particular, that I hooked close in, twisted and spun so rapidly that it wound the leader around itself several times and eventually came to the net backwards, I thought, at first, that I had foul hooked it in the tail, but no, the fly was firmly in the scissors. It’s possible they were Blue’s, they certainly hit the fly hard, which is a blue trait. Rainbows don’t often take that hard and they tend to run and jump. Most of the Blue’s I have caught prefer to stand toe to toe and slug it out like the prizefighter they are.

 I also lost a couple after a few seconds. I don’t suffer this problem very often either. I did hook them at quite a distance and I was using a new rod which is a bit softer than I normally use, so perhaps I didn’t set the hook properly. I usually find that fish hook themselves when I get a take far off.

 Anyway, a thoroughly good two or three hours sport before they decided to have a mid afternoon siesta.

March 20, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Dancing lesson next?

    Alan

    Comment by Alan Sandom | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. Nah,Dave looked a mover but you have two left feet

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. So its now my feet I have a problem with??

    Comment by Alan Sandom | March 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

