Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Yor ‘Avin A Larf

I did a very unusual thing today, no, not unusual, unique. Something I never intended ever to do….ever. I bought a new rod. Not just any old rod though, oh no, I bought a rod to cast the T38. For those of you that don’t know what T38 is, well done, you’re safer that way. The T38 is my nemesis. It’s the one event I dislike, well somewhere between dislike and hate actually, at BFCC events. I think it used to be called the fishermans fly event except I think they decided no sane fisherman would want to flyfish with something that could take your head off in the right circumstances. The T38 is a 38 grain or gram (I really must find out what the difference is) sinking shooting head that, when combined with a suitable rod, has the embarrassing habit of making you look like a complete clutz. Over the years Mike Marshall has had the odd gentle dig that I really should learn to cast the  damn thing properly. The trouble is that I disliked the club T38 rod, the bloody thing was out to try to hurt me every time I picked it up. I have tried one or two other rods that club members had brought along now and then, I didn’t like them either. My scepticism when Mike rang to say he had found a blank I might get on with was, as you can imagine, rather on the high side, but hey ho, nothing ventured nothing gained. The chance of an hour casting with Mike was worth the diesel on its own.

 So, you can imagine my surprise to be handed a light, and obviously responsive, rod instead of the broomstick I was expecting. We went to the field and strung it up and, bugger me, it was a pleasure to cast. I probably made the longest casts I have ever made with the T38, not that that is anything to boast about, yet.

 I’m off out to practice T38 is not something I thought I would ever hear myself saying.

 Watch this space.

March 13, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. You back out on the field yet?

    Alan

    Comment by Alan Sandom | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Now and then Alan, you know your always welcome.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. Might try later this week if I can shake off a pesky cold I picked up?? will let you know

    Alan

    Comment by Alan Sandom | March 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

