Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Chicken

Sorry, I can’t put a clip up, well, I can but I’m not going to. No, it’s not embarrassment. I am off to Hungary to visit Paul in a couple of weeks. I had thought that this was the weekend after the big opening of his Sexyloops fly casting school and me and Mark were going out there to chill for a couple of days. Apparently not, Paul is expecting several to stay on for a shootout, fly tying, Palinka drinking, wine tasting weekend, all to be washed down with Unicum.

 He has asked me to do a demo. I have only ever done general fly casting demos to non fly fishers. Having to do a demo in front of an audience of newly qualified instructors is a whole different  ball game so I’m going to cheat. I am going to demo my left handed casting and get them to point out, and rectify the many faults. It will either be the ultimate in audience participation or utter humiliation. Luckily I have never minded (too much) being humiliated, I have many faults but I hope ego is not one of them. That’s the reason for not putting the clip up yet, I don’t want any of them getting a sneak preview.

August 10, 2009 - Posted by | fly casting, Flycasting instruction, Mike Heritage

3 Comments »

  1. that’s a very great idea Mike !
    i’m positively certain there won’t be any humiliation involved.
    these guys will be in just the right mind frame for this and i’m sure will be competing to find the errors before the others.
    as a ‘trick’ i’d try to include a few casts without errors to see if they’re on their toes.

    i was supposed to go too but my left knee decided it needs a vacation 😦
    hope you have a lot of fun. take a lot of pics but don’t expect to catch any fish ! 😉

    cheers,
    marc

    Comment by Marc LaMouche | August 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. I don’t think there are any casts with my left hand that don’t have faults Marc. Pity you won’t be there. I hear a rumour the ‘do’ might be in Cumbria next year, I will see you there.

    Mike

    Comment by Mike Heritage | August 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. If the audience does not participate it will be their loss not yours.

    Good luck Mike.

    It would be good if you swap casting arms mid stroke for it always highlights things (for me anyway).

    Comment by Roger | August 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

