Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

I’m talking to the hand, it just ain’t listening

I suppose I always knew it was happening but I have discovered my left hand doesn’t know what my right hand is doing, in fact my left hand has a mind of it’s own. It completely ignores the instructions my brain are giving it. My forward loops are quite nice but my backcast loops are rubbish, I swap to the right hand to show the left what to do, ‘look, see how easy it is?’, put the rod in my left hand and it’s as if it isn’t listening, it carries on doing the same thing.

 Actually it’s not the hand, that only holds the rod, it’s the wrist that is the problem, it feels weak, which it’s not, it’s just uneducated. Tracking is a nightmare, I even have a problem doing simple pick up and laydowns against a straight line and until I get it right, or at least consistent I won’t get those nice dynamic loops I need to make the haul work.

 I will have to take my own advice and just concentrate on basic technique before I attempt any serious distance stuff. I might even upline by one weight until I can consistantly falsecast 50′ in line.

 Anyway, this is just confirming my suspicion than that the backcast is key to flycasting. My advantage is that I know this, most beginners just don’t appreciate it. They just concentrate on what happens in front of them and are oblivious, or just don’t care, about what happens behind them.

 Best today of 78′, I’m going backwards (again)

June 28, 2009 - Posted by | Distance casting, fly casting, Flycasting instruction, Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Hiya Mike
    What about putting a rod in both hands.
    They would of course have to be exactly the same, weight etc..
    I noticed years ago that is how Hywell Morgan taught how to learn to cast with either hand and of course the great Don Neish did the same technique, so I am told.
    The way it was done was together, then alternately, scissors style

    Comment by Roger | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. How do I haul with a rod in both hands? It works well with any pair of rods for just getting the basic stroke but becomes a bit more of a problem when you try to carry 50′ of line on both rods and they are different actions or different lines.

    I think the secret is just doing a few minutes every day to try and ingrain some muscle memory.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi Mike

    Re: “Anyway, this is just confirming my suspicion that the backcast is the key to flycasting”

    I also have that suspicion, my forward cast certainly appears to improve when I get the backcast right. Hmmm there again, does this mean they are equally important? LOL

    Best wishes
    Mike

    Comment by Mike Barrio | July 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

