Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Gone Fishing

And the amazing thing is I actually caught some fish, four nice rainbows around the 5lb mark, one small one and a bonus brownie of about 2 1/2lb, that was my c&r limit so after a cup of coffee I decided to get one for the pot, only to beat a hasty retreat when a thunder storm suddenly blew up before I could catch it. Gods way of telling me c&r is the way to go I suppose.

 Stowting trout lake is my local water and I used to fish it a lot, but in recent years I have only fished there two or three times a year. It’s run by an 83 year old wind surfing nut, and his wife, who lives in fear about what he is going to take up next!. I may have to go there more often though, it seems that it  is where the locals go to find a casting instructor, by local I mean Kent. First a husband and wife want to have flycasting lessons so they can fish together and then there will be a group of four lads who are coming back to fly fishing and want some instruction. It’s a bit like waiting for a bus, none for hours and then six turn up together. 

 I do have a soft spot for Stowting, I spent my childhood there, I went to school, went to Sunday school and the youth club (whatever happened to them?) and had my first kiss.

 Happy days

May 26, 2009 - Posted by | Fly Fishing, Flycasting instruction | ,

4 Comments »

  1. There you go Mike. A solution will always present itself (or at least start to.) I think your blog is more than just about fishing or casting.
    I wonder what they will say about you at the lake when you are 83 years young, probably not much different to what they say now.

    Comment by Roger | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. I am a bit worried about your first kiss. It wasn’t at the Boys Brigade was it?

    Comment by Roger | May 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. No Rog, she was all woman

    Comment by Mike Heritage | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  4. the hell with casting ! tell us about the kiss ! 😉

    Comment by marc fauvet | May 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

