Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

The End

God, even I am getting bored, so lets cut to the chase.

I have held the BFCC five weight record and the seven weight record. The five weight record is now held by Paul Arden with a world class 130ft 9ins, and I have seen him cast a lot further so watch this space. The seven weight record is held by Mike Marshall with a stonking cast of 142ft 1in. I have been relegated to only (!) holding the records in the Senior (sob) 50-59 categories.

If I had my time over again I would have joined the BFCC earlier than I eventually did. I was desperate to cast against other like minded people but the title the BRITISH fly casting club put me off for a year or two. I had visions of turning up and casting against the elite of the day and feeling totally inadequate. This could not have been further from the truth. They (we) are just a bunch of guys who like to get together and have a days casting. I couldn’t have wished to meet a nice group of people. There have never been many of us, sometimes only four or five of us turn up, other days there may be thirty or more compete. It’s a mystery to some of us why there seems to be such a lack of interest in flycasting for it’s own sake. For the sake of the equivalent of one hours tuition you get to cast and pick the brains of some of the best casters in the country and get some free instruction if you want it, four times a year. Go figure!.

I also had Pauls shootouts twice a year so I was managing to cast with and against some really good casters half a dozen times a year, mainly from April to October. The six months  cold weather period was, and still is a period when my enthusiasm would wain and it can take quite an effort to get re-enthused to get out there and practice again.

I honestly believe my best competitive days are behind me but not necessarily my best casting, my new enthusiasm is to just be as good as I can get with a single handed rod casting the ‘twiddly stuff’ as my wife likes to call it, normal fishing distance presentation casts.

Studying for my CCI opened my eyes to aspects of casting I had been virtually ignoring for years and I also found I enjoy, and get a lot of satisfaction, from instructing.

The heart breaking Hardy Angel has now evolved into the Angel 2TE which, so far, does not show the same inclination to become a five piece rod at the slightest excuse.

Who knows, the distance bug might bite again and I will give Paul a run for his money with a five weight.

I used to be good…

March 31, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Oh Mikey you should not have put ” I used to be good” see this clip on you tube

    Comment by Roger | March 31, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh Mikey you should not have put ” I used to be good” see this clip on you tube

    Great reading Mike gives me inspiration

    Comment by Roger | March 31, 2009 | Reply

  3. ha ha 🙂 good one Roger !

    Mike, great to see you cast! still got it ya old man… 😉
    Paul ain’t seen the end of you yet.

    cheers,
    marc

    btw, the soundtrack is very interesting.

    Comment by marc fauvet | March 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

