Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Caster

 When I first got the distance bug it became an obsession. I used to fly fish back in the seventies so I knew how to cast, or thought I did. Life got in the way during the eighties and nineties so when I decided to get my fly fishing gear out again I thought I had better see what had happened to the sport while I had been away from it. The internet was getting going and I browsed the net in search of information. I eventually found a site that just sucked me in. I don’t think I turned the computer off for three days as I read the adventures of some trout bum who roamed the world in search of trout. Although that was fascinating enough the thing that really grabbed my attention were the articles on flycasting. I barely understood what I was reading but for some reason it excited me. I dusted down my old rod, bought a line and went out into the field, gee, thanks, www.sexyloops.com. To be honest I wasn’t that bad a caster, I was up in the low to mid ninety feet area so fairly respectable. 

 The trout bum came back to the UK now and then so I booked a lesson, thats when I first met Paul Arden. There is always a doubt in the casters mind that he has reached the limits of the equipment he is using, I thought I had reached the limits of mine anyway. Paul soon disabused of that notion when I handed him the rod and asked him if he could do better than me and he promptly put another ten or fifteen feet on my best effort with a rod he had never cast before. I was a bit put out by that!.  Whenever Paul is in the UK he invites a few friends over for a ‘shootout’ and I was honoured to be invited to one the next weekend. His friends turned out to be Pete Sutton and Jon Allen, both bloody good casters in their own right. That weekend I discovered what flycasting was really about, you just can’t beat being near a good caster for inspiration. I was now on the rocky road of pure distance, I wan’t even bothered if I went fishing or not, just as long as I could get down the field and practice.

 This is actually a very long story. The drama, tantrums,  depression,  ecstasy, despair, shock and horror of it all, and that’s only my wife’s reaction!

 This is going to be a several parter

March 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Looking forward to the rest of this series.
    Bring it on.

    Comment by Roger | March 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. If its thought provoking for a caster such as yourself, you can guess what it does for lesser mortals!!!see you soon I hope.

    Alan

    Comment by Alan Sandom | March 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. I was a lesser mortal once Alan, I know it’s a God given gift I have but I still had to unwrap it.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. “Life got in the way during the eighties and nineties”.

    Are you talking about me and Stu by any chance?!

    Comment by Pete Heritage | March 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. Not entirely Pete, but trust me, you were a big part of it. Thanks for reminding me!

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

