Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

A Rod For My Own Back

This might go in one of several directions, I just make up a title and see where it takes me. I could go down the ‘what the hell have I started’ route and tell you that now I spend some considerable time wondering what to write about next but it wouldn’t be strictly true because I do actually spend a considerable amount of time just doing my job and that doesn’t actually leave me with a lot of time to consider anything else. Besides I have discovered I’m a mood writer. If I’m not in the mood it don’t get writ, so you may find that I just don’t post anything for a week or two.

 I could talk about rods, but what could I say?, what suits me may not suit you. I have noticed that in the last couple of years I have been finding it more and more difficult to find a truly awful rod. I get the chance to cast quite a few and I often take the chance to cast some of the lower end or entry level stuff and seem to find myself enjoying casting a lot of them. I would guess that the vast majority are made from blanks made in China or South Korea but if you talk to the any rep from the rod retailer they will tell you that they have a large input into the rods design, how much of that is true I don’t know, all I do know is that you will be very unlucky to buy a real dog these days.

 That’s not to say you can’t tell the difference when you pick up a real honey, they immediately stand out as quality. Some are just pure pleasure to cast.

 Pervesely I do quite enjoy casting awful rods now and then, they make you think. You have to learn how to get the best out of them and that can take a surprising amount of time sometimes.

March 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. As a newcomer to distance casting etc.. I think getting the best out of any rod is mostly if not entirely due to the expertise and ability of the caster to “feel” what the rod is doing with the line.
    Having witnessed several advanced casters at the BFCC this is what I have noticed as when I pick up a rod that I have not used before I usually struggle.

    Comment by Roger | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. There is a lot of benifit from casting different rods. In some competitions and at Pauls shootouts we just cast the rod given to us so it pays to be able to work one out quickly. The problem is often not the rod but the line, they can take longer to get used to.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

