Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Today, I is mainly talking Bollox

I have been told a few times I talk bollocks so I can only assume that my writing reflects the same tendency. I am, however, discovering that I probably write better than I talk, in fact I think I write how I would like to talk. Talking is sort of instantaneous whereas when I write I can erase a few words and I have time to re read, reflect and edit before  I put my thoughts into your head. I have no such luxury when I talk, hence the bollocks.

 I find descriptive writing a real pain in the arse. I have written many replies for  threads on Sexyloops and found myself lost in a maze of descriptive confusion. I sit and ponder for a solution, cross this out, rewrite that bit, add a word here, change a comma for a full stop or visa versa. An hour passes by and I either give up and delete it or I post it and wait for the flack. Sometimes by the time I get to posting the thread has moved on a couple of pages and my post is even more irrelevant than it probably was in the first place.

 So, what’s  all this writing done for me?. Improved my spelling for one thing. I can now spell ‘accelerate’ and I have recently discovered there is no e in ‘forward’ (foreward), not bad for a bloke rapidly closing in on his sixties.

 It can take me an hour or more to write a description of my understanding of something that takes less than one second to perform. Plus, the words and descriptions that are in my head, and, make perfect sense to me,  leave others wondering what the hell I am talking about. It could be worse, I could be one of those that throw in the odd (very) mathematical equation into the mix and further muddy my already murky water, God, I hate hard mathematical facts, where’s the fun in that?. Einstein and Newton have a lot to answer for.

No, I prefer other methods of description. Jon Allen (casting athlete, and good friend) once told me that ‘casting should be smooth, like stroking a beautiful woman’s thigh’. I think that’s very profound, even though it’s bit disturbing as well.

 Descriptions are arbitrary, my ‘crisp action’ might be your ‘floppy noodle’. My ‘mid action’ might be your ‘cannon’. In days of yore when I was always looking for the next five weight to give me that extra six inches of distance the word ‘cannon’ in a rod review would have me flexing me my credit card and trawling the Internet to find it. The sum total of this is the ten or more five weights that sit, barely used, in my rod cupboard. 

 I would hope that as you read this you have the impression that it flowed from my head onto the page with effortless ease. What you haven’t seen are the four cigarettes, two cups of coffee and the mindless staring at the screen trying to drag the right word out of my brain or the removal of the bits that were complete bollocks until all we have left is just pure bollocks.

March 9, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. Hi Mike

    Loving the blog, great stuff, keep up the good work!

    Best wishes
    Mike

    Comment by Mike Barrio | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Mike, fancy seeing you here. Thanks. I will try to keep it up but I am starting to understand the term writers block. I never intended the blog to have so much content. It’s an evil beast that is eating my brain away.

    See you in a couple of months.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. I am told that I talk botox as well.
    Also my spelling is not as good as it used to be.
    I keep “fillin in” the words.

    Comment by Roger | March 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’ve seen you in action Rog, it may be bollox but it’s very pursuasive bollox.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 13, 2009 | Reply

  5. brilliant post Mike !

    i couldn’t agree more. i’m faced with the very same challenges every time i try to come up with something new for my blog.
    i too am more of a poet than an engineer.
    if anything, putting thoughts into written words is a pretty good overall learning experience.
    hopefully one day someone will be able to understand me when i write about casting 😉

    cheers,
    marc

    Comment by marc fauvet | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  6. Yeah, mostly I enjoy it, the worst part for me is coming up with a subject. I don’t want to get too deep into the minutia, that’s not what I’m about.

    The English bits of your blog are very enjoyable, the French bit is just bollox.

    Where do you get those bloody emocations from??

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. thanks but i’ll ask you to leave my french bullocks out of this !!! :laugh:

    ok,

    for a smiley- use your keyboard and click : then – then ) = 🙂

    wink- click ; then – then ) = 😉

    frown- click : then – then ( = 😦

    reply with a test, ok ?

    Comment by marc fauvet | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  8. :_) :- I think you’re taking the piss!

    Comment by Mike Heritage | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  9. Mike, i SWEAR that i’m not ! follow instructions dude !
    i don’t have emoticons installed. it’s just like 🙂 or 😉 or :^) but it comes out as images here like on a lot of forums.

    :and – ( not _ ) and )

    etc.

    good luck ! 😉

    marc

    Comment by marc fauvet | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  10. sorry, no preview… i was trying to show normal text symbols like :^)

    so, just plain : and )
    ; and )
    : and (

    this is getting harder than talking about casting ! ha ha !

    Comment by marc fauvet | March 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

