Mike Heritage FFF MCI UK

Fly casting and talking fly casting bollox

Serendipety

I have just got back from a BFCC meeting in Oswestry which I will write more about on the BFCC website. One of the people attending was Steve Parkes who makes AtomSix rods, and, of course, he brought along a rod or two for us to play with. The standout one for me was the #5 Tachyon, which I am sure is capable of making some seriously long casts but when I talked to Steve I told him I thought that if the bottom two sections could be beefed up slightly it would make a wonderful comp rod. Later in the day he put a rod in my hands and told me to try it and lo and behold I had a real cannon in my hands. I could only play with it for a few minutes but it had so much potential I didn’t want to put it down. The only other rod I have had like it was the original silver Hardy Angel TE. It was the only rod I have ever owed that you could keep asking more from and it would give it to you…until it broke….and broke again, and again. I feel the rod Steve handed to me has the same potential (not for breakage). These are not easy rods to cast, you have to work them out. Nearly all the #5 rods I use for distance have some limitation that you have to recognise and work within, it’s nice to get one where you can go beyond the normal boundaries. If Steve decides to market whatever it was he put in my hands I will buy one.

Having a beer with a rod builder is interesting experience. I learned more about rods and how they are designed, blanks made and built in an hour than I have in the previous ten years. Steve is an enthusiast, I normally steer well clear of enthusiasts they can be a bit of a pain in the arse (where is a smilie when you want one? It would be an ironic one) but an interesting enthusiast is a pleasure to be around…especially if he happens to build bloody nice rods.

June 16, 2013 - Posted by | BFCC, Distance casting, Rods

3 Comments »

  1. Great stuff Mike!

    Comment by Mike Barrio | June 16, 2013 | Reply

  2. Mike, as you already know – I enjoyed myself no end on Saturday, and I know I may sound a little selfish, but is there any chance we could have a few more meets around the North West?

    Comment by nirogers | June 17, 2013 | Reply

  3. Hi Ni,

    If you can suggest something viable to MM I’m sure he would listen. The problem is for the ‘hard core’ members who really need to be there(instructors) having to travel and often stay overnight. At the moment the vast majority of those expenses come out of our own pocket. I did get my plane fare to Glasgow last year but not airport parking or hotel. It can all work out quite expensive over the year and sometime difficult to justify to her indoors.

    Comment by Mike Heritage | June 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

